「自然語言處理」與行銷的關聯為何?身為行銷人的你必知

當一名購物者造訪企業的電子商務網站時,可能會隨意瀏覽網頁或尋找特定商品的資訊。試想一下:假設此時出現一名虛擬助理,不但可與這名購物者交談,還能引導購物者找到正在搜尋的產品,就像在實體店面中的專人服務一樣,那會是怎樣的光景呢?這種無縫、個人化的顧客體驗可透過「自然語言處理」(natural language processing, NLP)來加以實現。

「自然語言處理」是人工智慧(AI)的一個分支領域,其目的在於教導機器了解、詮釋,和應用人類語言。依據不同的輸入形式(文字或聲音),的「自然語言處理」模型運用深度學習(deep learning)演算法,著重於「預測下一個句子」,也就是根據未結束的對話情境,列出一組經排序過的候選句子。

起先,這種預測能力是透過以統計資料為基礎的簡單模型來達成,不過這樣的模型往往只能輸出呆板固定的回應。然而,深度學習的運用賦予現今的模型更複雜的演算能力,可從資料中提取資訊,並產出十分精確的結果。這為許多嶄新的應用程式開闢了新的發展途徑。

配備「自然語言處理」技術的客服機器人,能夠理解特定範圍內的對話內容,引導顧客找到其所尋求的答案。情緒分析(sentiment analysis)模型也賦予機器人分析對話情境與衡量顧客滿意度的能力。

「自然語言處理」還可幫助行銷人員分析顧客的談話,以及其所瀏覽的網頁,進而深入了解顧客的想法與意圖。

舉例來說,若是Amy正計劃前往巴黎展開購物之旅,「自然語言處理」技術可以幫助行銷人員分析Amy所瀏覽過的網頁文章內關鍵字和主題,並根據分析結果將Amy劃分為特定類別的消費者(如「法國購物者」),同時標註Amy興趣的關鍵字(如「高檔商品」)。接著行銷人員便可利用這些知識,為Amy打造使其感興趣的個人化網頁內容,以藉此提高其轉換率、最終促成購買行為。 藉由「自然語言處理」,這樣大規模的分析工作在短時間內便可迅速完成,因此行銷人員得以根據其結果即時制定行銷策略,從而迅速抓住潛在顧客的目光。

AI 101: What Is the Role of Natural Language Processing in Marketing?

When a shopper lands on your e-commerce site, she will either browse around or search for specific product info. What if you have a virtual assistant who can chat with her and guide her to exactly what she is looking for, just like in a physical store? This seamless, personalized customer experience is made possible through natural language processing (NLP).

NLP is a field of artificial intelligence (AI) that trains machines to understand human language, interpret and converse with it. It takes into account the form of input (speech or voice). By leveraging deep learning algorithms, today’s NLP models are focused on “next sentence prediction”, which is a set of candidate sentences being ranked given an unfinished conversation.

Initially, this was done through simple models based on statistical information. Given an input, they would generate the same result. However, using deep learning helps today’s models produce results with considerable accuracy as they are more complicated to extract information from the data. This has opened doors to a whole new host of applications.

Robots in customer service, equipped with NLP technology, are able to understand conversations in limited domains and direct customers to relevant answers. Sentiment analysis also helps them analyze conversations and gauge satisfaction levels.

NLP also helps marketers understand customers’ thoughts and intentions by analyzing their conversations and the webpages they viewed.

For instance, if a visitor is planning a shopping trip in Paris, NLP techniques can analyze the keywords and topics from the webpages he browses, and segment the user into a specific category like “France shopper” with interest keywords like “luxury goods”. Using this knowledge, you can have your web content personalized to his interests, increasing the likelihood of conversion and purchase. The fact that this can be done at scale quickly helps marketers devise marketing strategies in real time.